Our Organization

Photo of Chief JenningsCMPD Chief Johnny Jennings, sworn into office July 1, 2020, is an innovative and forward-thinking public servant who uses strategic and technological solutions to positively impact operations and produce data-driven results.

Jennings joined the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department as a member of the 108th recruit class in May of 1992.

He has held a variety of positions and ranks throughout the organization including sergeant over criminal intelligence, patrol sergeant and captain over the North Tryon Division, major over intelligence, investigations, special operations, Office of Professional Responsibility and deputy chief over patrol, special services, administrative services and the support services groups including the Community Services Bureau.

Some of Jennings’ noteworthy career achievements include the following:
    --  Developing and implementing the CMPD’s paid college internship program to assist with recruitment and retention
    --  Led planning and operations for major events such as the NBA All-Star game in 2019 and Billy Graham’s funeral in 2018
    --  Led intelligence and coordination efforts with federal, regional, state and local partners for the Democratic National Convention in 2012
    --  Crime Reduction Award recipient

He has served as the President of the North Carolina Police Executives Association and as the Vice President of the National Organization for Black Law Enforcement Executives.

Jennings obtained a B.S. in Criminal Justice from Appalachian State University and a master’s in business administration from Pfeiffer University. He is also a graduate of the FBI National Academy and a graduate of the Senior Management Institute for Police.

Jennings, a native of Jefferson City, Tennessee, played football as an All-American linebacker at Appalachian State University and was inducted into the Appalachian State University Athletic Hall of Fame.  

Office of the Chief Chief of Police: Chief Johnny Jennings
Assistant to the Chief:​ Executive Officer: Major Zeru Chickoree
​ ​

hornets crest ​Bureau: Professional Accountability Bureau​ Bureau Commander: Major Alex Watson
division block
Internal Affairs Division |601 E. Trade Street | phone: 704-336-2336​​​
Division Commander: Captain Christian Wagner​​​
Division Commander​​: Captain David Harris

division block
Strategic Policy Division |601 E. Trade Street | phone: 704-488-7812​​
Division Commander: Lt. Susan Manassah​​​
Division Support: Sgt. Chris Frunzi​​​

division block
Strategic Policy Unit | ​​Unit Supervisor: Jacqueline Brown​ | phone: 704-336-3051

division block
CALEA | ​​Unit Supervisor: Sgt. Chris Busic​ | phone: 704-353-1139

division block
Quality Assurance Division |601 E. Trade Street | phone: 704-353-1218​​
Division Commander: Captain Mike Harris​​​

hornets crest ​Bureau: Human Resources Division​ Bureau Commander: Tammy Pippen
division block
Human Resources |601 E. Trade Street | phone: 704-336-2334​​​
Division Supervisor: Latoya Dorsey

hornets crest ​Bureau: ​Business Services Manager​ Supervisor: Kellie High-Foster
division block
Financial Management Division |601 E. Trade Street | phone: 704-336-2334​​​
Division Supervisor: Ebony Jones​​​

division block
Research and Strategic Planning |601 E. Trade Street | phone: 704-301-8415
Division Supervisor: Morgan Parks​​​

hornets crest ​Bureau: ​Public Affairs Division​ Bureau Commander: Sandra D'Elosua

division block
Public Affairs Office |601 E. Trade Street | contact: CMPDPIO@cmpd.org
​ Division Commander: Lt. Kevin Pietrus​​

division block
Public Records Unit | ​​Unit Supervisor: Joanna Prentice​ | phone: 704-432-6296

The Deputy Chiefs

Deputy Chief Tonya Arrington Deputy Chief Tonya Arrington joined the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department as a member of the 123rd recruit class of 1996. She was promoted to her current rank in 2021​. 

As the Deputy Chief for Special Services Group, she oversees the Special Events, Transportation, Special Operations Divisions, the Lab and Evidence Bureau which includes Crime Lab Division, Property and Evidence Management Division and Crime Scene Search Unit, Public Safety Technology Solutions as well as Crime Analysis.

Major Dave Johnson commands the Criminal Intelligence Division, the Special Events Division, which includes Accident Reconstruction, Motorcycle, and CATS Transit Units, as well as the Special Operations Bureau, which includes SWAT, Aviation, Canine and Arson/Bomb Units. Ellen Thomas oversees the Public Safety Technology Solutions Division, which includes System Architecture, Application Development, and Operations Support for both Police and Fire. Monica Nguyen oversees the Crime Analysis Division, which handles crime data and analytical assessment for the department.

Deputy Chief Sherie Pearsall Deputy Chief Jacquelyn Hulsey joined the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department as a member of the 116th recruit class of 1994. She was promoted to her current rank in 2022​. 

​As the Deputy Chief of the ​Administrative Services Group, she oversees the Training Academy, the Communications Division, the Non-Emergency Police Services, the Computer Technology Solutions Division, and Crime Lab Division.

Major Ryan Jackson is the commander of the Administrative Services Bureau which includes the Communications Division, Non-Emergency Police Services, and Records Management Division. Major Brad Koch is the commander of the Recruitment and Training Bureau which includes the Training and Recruitment Divisions. Major Martha Dozier is the commander of the Community Services Bureau which includes Community Engagement, Community Wellness Division, LGBT Engagement Committee, Education outreach & Youth Services Division and Animal Care and Control

Deputy Chief Steven Brochu Deputy Chief David Robinson joined the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department as a member of the 122nd recruit class of 1996. He was promoted to his current rank in 2022. 

As the Deputy Chief for Patrol Services Group, he oversees all Patrol Divisions and Airport Law Enforcement. Major Ryan Butler commands the Patrol Northwest Division, which includes Freedom, North, and Metro Divisions as well as the Airport corridor. Major Cecil Brisbon commands the Patrol Northeast Division, which includes Hickory Grove, North Tryon and University City Divisions. Major Jacquelyn Bryley commands the Patrol Southeast Divisions, which includes Central, Eastover, Independence and Providence Divisions. Major Jonathan Thomas commands the Patrol Southwest Divisions, which includes South, Steele Creek and Westover Divisions.

Deputy Chief Coerte Voorhees Deputy Chief Steven Brochu joined the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department as a member of the 120th recruit class of 1995. He was promoted to his current rank in 2020​. 

As the Deputy Chief for the Investigative Services Group, he oversees all major felony investigative units, including Homicide, Assault w/Deadly Weapon, Robbery, Vice/Gangs/Firearms, Sexual Assault, Auto Theft, Arson, Cyber Crimes and Financial Crimes. 
Major Luke Sell is the commander of the Special Investigations Bureau, which includes Vice & Narcotics, the Gang Unit, VCAT, TRAP and ABC Units. Major Melanie Peacock commands the Criminal Investigations Bureau, which includes Homicide/ADW, Robbery, Sexual Assault, Missing Persons, Cyber Crimes and Domestic Violence Units.​