Divisions & Contacts

​About Us

The Charlotte Department of Transportation (CDOT) is the fourth largest department within the City of Charlotte organization. CDOT has more than 400 employees working in five divisions. Each of our divisions plays a vital role in providing basic services that affect the daily lives of everyone who lives and works in Charlotte.  Learn more about Transportation's Director Debbie Smith, who leads the City's transportation network and guides the expansion of our multi-modal transportation system to keep Charlotte moving, now and in the future. 

Divisions and Contacts
Street Maintenance
Engineering & Operations
Development Services
Planning & Design
Business Management Services

CDOT provides a variety of services directly to the community - such as maintaining streets; installation, maintenance and monitoring of traffic signals; traffic calming devices; and services to neighborhoods. The department also provides overall transportation planning in order to improve roads and streets and make them safer.

Learn how CDOT supports and encourages "Big Ideas for Better Places." 



Debbie Smith       

Deputy Director


Deputy Director

Ed McKinney

Executive Assistant to the Director

Lynn Alexander   

Public Relations and Director Support

Public Relations Manager
Tamara Blue

Customer Relations
Kayla Losh​

Department of Transportation

600 East Fourth Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
PH: 704.336.4119
FAX: 704.632.8140