Text Amendment Stakeholder Group


The Heights In Residential District Stakeholder group was convened at the direction of City Council to review current standards of height requirements in residential districts.

The request was one of many received by the Planning Department to consider the impact of tall buildings in excess of 40 feet and located adjacent or in the vicinity of residences that are less than 40 feet.

Stakeholders were encouraged to provide any additional feedback to staff by December 20, 2010.  The comments received by staff were considered and final recommendations have been submitted.


See Also Rezoning Petition 2011-038

June 20, 2011 (City Council Public Hearing)


April 7, 2011
March 7, 2011 (Planning Commission Work Session)

December 1, 2010

November 30, 2010

October 12, 2010

October 5, 2010

December 2, 2009

 November 5, 2009 

 October 22, 2009 

September 17, 2009

September 3, 2009



Kenny Abner

Josh Allison

Rebecca Anderson

Thema Ayers-Bailey

Alan Banks

Louise Barden

David Barley

Elizabeth Barnhardt

Alina Bartlett

Natalie Beard

Lauren Blackburn

Phil Bosche

Mary Boyd

Robert Brandon

Thomas Brasse

Jack Brosch

Collin  Brown

Rusty Bryson

John Carmichael

Steve Cartee

Peter Cozan

David Crockett

Olivia Crowley

Pam Davies

Michael Davis

David DeSilva

Don Duffy

Leslie Dwyer

Wilna Eury

Dan Evans

David Faulkner

Brian Fincher

Mark Fowler

John Fryday

Deanna Garrett

Evelyn Gerdes

Debra Glenman

Jim Goodwill

Hilary Greenberg

Francene Greene

Dana Grigg

Jim Guyton

Chad Hagler

Thomas Hapapuru

Sandra Haynes

Barbara Highfill

Larry Hines

C Holtz

Betsy Hooker

Stan Howie

Shelley Hughes

Bonnie Jackson

Rosanne Jones

Kent Jones

Anne King

Rob Kinniburgh

Karla Knotts

Steve Liebentritt

Susan Lindsay

Eric Locher

Deanna Long

John Marshall

Mattie Marshall

Miriam Martin

Pamela May

Kelsey Mayo

Lee McLaren

Jamie McLawhorn

Kam Merrell

Carolyn Millen

Andy Munn

Dave Nichols

Bill Nichols

Tim O'Rourke

Bailey Patrick

Tom Pearson

Susan Pierce

Mike Raible

James Roberts

Charles Rulick

Verisha Saulet

Carol Scally

Anne Schout

John Schwaller

Ray Sheedy

Ursula Smith

Jennings Snider

Nicole Storey

Najeedah Stover

Daniele Summerfield

Ken Szymanski

Peter Tart

Caroline Tate

Charles Teal

Ken Tippette

Janelle Travis

Alexa Upchurch

John Wall

George Warren

Eric Wasson

Grace Watkins

Sandy Weathersbee

Kenneth Whelchel

Debbie White

Bob Williams

Jeanne Woosley

Lisa Yarrow

Linda Yu

Katie Zender

Andy Zoutewelle


Planning Staff

Katrina Young, Project Manager
Laura Harmon, Assistant Director
Solomon Fortune

John Howard
Tammie Keplinger
Sonda Kennedy

Sandy Montgomery
Barry Mosley
Shad Spencer



For more information regarding the "Height" in Residential Districts Stakeholders
Please contact:
Sonda Kennedy

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Department
600 East Fourth Street (8th Floor)
Charlotte, North Carolina 28202