Police Community Relations Awards

​Police Community Relations Awards


Established in 1979 to promote and express the community's appreciation to Police Officers who have made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of police-community relations.  Each year officers are recognized for their advance creative solution to neighborhood problems; for demonstrating extraordinary efforts in the area of crime preventions; and for their involvement in helping neighborhoods handle special needs or problems. With more than 4,000  police officers nomination, and over 500 awarded the Police Community Relations Award over the last 39 years, this program is made possible through the generous sponsorships of local businesses, individuals, churches and organizations.


40th Annual Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Community Relations Awards.  

​Nominations are Being Accepted

Recognizes officers and work teams from the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department who have made outstanding contributions to the improvement of police-community relations in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg area. Citizens from neighborhoods, schools, places of worship, businesses and civic institutions nominate officers, and CRC members review the nominations.

  • The awards recognize officers and work teams from the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department for building positive, problem-solving relationships with individual citizens and neighborhood groups
  • Entry Deadline is Monday April 1, 2019.

Please submit your nomination(s).

39th Police Community Relations Award Winners

Captain Jacquelyn Bryley - North Tyron Division; Sergeant Adam DeGeorge -  South Division; Officer Shannon Finis - Eastway Division, Officer Misty Helms - Hickory Grove Division; Officer Erik Markus - University City Division; Sergeant George Mentavlos - Transit Division - CATS Unit; Officer Kenisha Mobley - School Resource Officer Unit; Sergeant Warith Muhammad - Hickory Grove Division; Officer Mark Parrott - North Tryon Division; Officer Jason Peetz - University City Division; Officer Charlissa Reiber - Metro Division; Officer Kenia Restrepo - Hickory Grove Division; Officer Shaun Ward - Police and Fire Training Academy; Officer Chad Webster - University City Division

​​Contact Information

Donna Murrell


(704) - 336-3056

Belmont Community Center

700 Parkwood Ave

Charlotte, NC 28205






Carolina Panthers

Food Lion/Delhaize America

Hendrick Automotive Group


Wendy’s/Carolinas Restaurant Group

Burnette & Noble Fund

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Crime Stoppers

Family Dollar Stores. Inc.


Publix Super Markets, Inc.


Sonitrol Security Services, Inc.


Mr. & Mrs. Howard Levine

Charlotte Pipe and Foundry Company