People gathered around happy in front of the image of City of charlotte

CRC Subcommittees

The Charlotte Mecklenburg Community Relations Committee (CRC) is composed of a Leadership Team, and six subcommittees:  Communications, Education/Young Leaders, Intercultural Relations, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration, Police Community Relations, and Programs/Speakers.

Leadership Team

The Leadership subcommittee is composed of the chair and vice-chair (appointed by the Mayor of the City of Charlotte and the Chairman of the Mecklenburg County Board of County Commissioners) and the six subcommittee chairs.

The Communications subcommittee assists CRC staff to facilitate strategic internal and external communications. The subcommittee develops ideas to maintain a newsletter and other social media outlets to provide public service announcements and community awareness of CRC events.

Education/Young Leaders

The Education/Young Leaders subcommittee‘s mission is to create a community-wide expectation, beginning with kindergartners, that all Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (CMS) students will graduate high school with appropriate life skills.  Members of the subcommittee develop community relations with area school students, administrators, elected officials, and special interest groups to assist to ensure Charlotte area students have access to the skills necessary to become productive citizens of Charlotte.

Commemoration of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. subcommittee coordinates all events relating to the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. commemoration and celebration in January.  Charlotte has one of the country’s largest celebrations with events that have included a parade, arts and writing contests, prayer service, awards banquet, and more.

Intercultural Relations

The Intercultural Relations Subcommittee is focused on removing barriers to ensure all residents of Charlotte-Mecklenburg have equal access to community programs and resources with a special emphasis on the immigrant population.

Police Community Relations Awards and Engagement

The Police-Community Relations Awards and Engagement Subcommittee is responsible for hosting the annual awards ceremony and reception. The awards recognize officers and work teams from the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to building positive, problem-solving relationships with individual residents and neighborhood groups. It is also the subcommittee’s mission to improve relationships between the community and police officers in Charlotte-Mecklenburg. This is achieved through proactive engagement, forums, and events that help address community concerns. The subcommittee also works to enhance community trust in the process for receiving, investigating, and adjudicating complaints of police misconduct. The subcommittee also conducts police hearings and works with the police and community to monitor programs that improve these relationships.


The Programs/Speakers subcommittee serves as an internal liaison, program coordinator, and event planner resource for all subcommittees of the CRC. This subcommittee is responsible for supporting the work of other subcommittees by identifying internal & external speakers, connecting subcommittees to needed resources and facilitating new member orientations. Additionally, the Programs/Speakers subcommittee is responsible for planning the annual CRC retreat.

Ad Hoc Committees

The Ad Hoc committees are formed as required to address community relations through special projects, focus groups, task forces, or other responses as required.  CRC Committee members are asked or appointed to serve as appropriate.

Administrative Support

The Administrative Support committee is responsible for preparing, typing and distributing monthly meeting minutes, tracking meeting attendance and providing the Committee Chair, County Representative and City Clerk with reports, as well as providing orientation to new committee members.


​​Connect with the Committee