MLK Events

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Annual Medallion Award

On behalf of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Community Relations Committee, thank you for your continued support of honoring the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. during our National Holiday Celebration.

Due to COVID-19, we will not be hosting the MLK parade in January and will be shifting to a virtual platform for other activities to honor Dr. King. While this was a difficult decision, the safety of our community and participants is our top priority.

During the 2021 Charlotte-Mecklenburg National Holiday Celebration, highlights from past parades will be featured on WSOC-TV along with programming that showcases how members of our community are reflecting on and honoring Dr. King’s legacy.

Our annual celebration has always been successful because of partners like you. Your work throughout the community not only honors Dr. King but also helps make Charlotte-Mecklenburg a better place for all. Thank you again and we look forward to celebrating together again in the future.

Nominees should meet the following criteria

  1. Be a resident of Charlotte-Mecklenburg
  2. Promote the ideals of racial equality and social justice as espoused by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. including, but not limited to:
    • Celebrating and promoting the worth of all human beings
    • Pursuing equal rights by non-violent means
    • Encouraging people of diverse cultures to live together in  a spirit  of love and acceptance
    • Active involvement in community service
    • Resisting injustice wherever it is found
    • Promoting inter-group relations and understanding​


Past winners

2020 - Anna Hood and Sarah Coleman (posthumous)

2019 - Jacotran Potts

2018 - Greg Jackson

2017 - Dr. Peter M. Wherry

2016 - Reverend Rodney Sadler

2015 - Jermaine Nakia Lee

2014 - Deborah Walker, Ph.D.

2013 - Steve Crump

2012 - (National observance partnered with McCrory YMCA)

2011 - Susan Burgess (posthumous)

2010 - Dr. David Jacobs

2009 - Pastor Barbara Brewton (posthumous)

2008 - Julius Chambers, Stephanie Jennings (posthumous) and Valerie Woodard (posthumous)

2007 - David L. Taylor

2006 - Lenny Springs

2005 - Dr. Clifford Jones

2004 - Arthur Griffin, Dr. Wilhelmina Rembert, Carson Beckwith and General Cornell A. Wilson Jr.

2003 - Donald Baker (posthumous) and Dr. David Hunter

2002 - Joseph Powell and Dr. Vernon Herron

2001 - Larry B. Murray

2000 - Judge Shirley Fulton

1999 - Malcolm E. Everett III and James E. Ferguson II

1998 - Joe Martin

1997 - Diane English

1996 - Clara Williams

1995 - Jack L. Bullard

1994 - Robert L. Davis Jr.

1993 - Theresa D. Elder

1992 - Bishop George E. Battle Jr.

1991 - Ron Leeper

1990 - Dr. Leon Riddick

1989 - Dr. Loomis McGlohon

1988 - Harvey Gantt

1987 - Dr. Douglas W. Olderburg

1986 - Sarah Stevenson

1985 - Kelly Alexander Sr., Marion Cannon, Kitty Huffman, and Charles Jones


​2021 Atrium Health Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. National Observance & CMS Arts Writing Contest Award

The recipient will be honored during the Atrium Health Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. National Holiday celebration.​​


Contact the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Community Relations Committee for more information at 704-336-5271​​.