About Us

​Advisory Committee​

The Advisory Committee was formed in June 1991. The agreement that formed the group was signed by Mayor Sue Myrick and Board of County Commissioners Chairperson T. Rodney Autrey. ​

The agreement requires that three members will be appointed by the County Commission, three by City Council and one by the Charlotte city mayor. With the exception of the town representative, the members of the Committee must be actively involved in one of the following categories: real estate developer, water and/or sewer contractor, civil engineer specializing in water/sewer construction, financial expert and neighborhood leader. This composition of skill sets was suggested by a 13-member citizen committee that reviewed Utilities policies from April to November 1990, which recommended the five-member Community Facilities Committee be transitioned to seven members with these characteristics. 

​Advisory Committee Meetings are typically on the third Thursday of each month between 2:30 p.m. and 4:00 p.m. at 4222 Westmont Drive (Conference Room C), Charlotte NC 28217. ​

To review and make recommendations on the following: all capital improvement programs for water and sewer facilities and changes to such programs; proposed changes in the method for determining water and sewer charges; proposed changes in policy for extending water and sewer services. 

Members commit approximately 1.5 hours per month. Members are appointed to three-year terms and may be appointed to one additional term to coincide right after the first term.

There are seven members (one appointed by Mayor of Charlotte; three by Charlotte City Council; three by Mecklenburg County Commissioners).​

Leslie Jones is the Chairperson and Frank McMahan is the Vice Chairman.  
Other members are: 
  • Barbara Bleiweis
  • Barry Webb
  • Dorian Carter
  • William Royal
  • William Baker