Past Mayors

Charlotte's Mayors 1850-1870

In 1850 Charlotte was just beginning to emerge as a commerce center in the South. During the next twenty year, Charlotte would suffer through the Civil War and the beginnings of reconstruction.

During this time Charlotte's first horse drawn fire engine was purchased, gas lights were installed on Charlotte streets, Biddle University (a forerunner of Johnson C. Smith University) was established and the Charlotte Observer began publishing a daily newspaper. Find out what happened during the administration of each of the following Charlotte mayors:

William F. Davidson 1853-1857 and 1873-1875
David Parks 1857-1859
Jennings B. Kerr 1859-1861
William A. Owens 1861-1862
Robert F. Davidson 1862-1863
Samuel A. Harris 1864-1865 and 1866-1867
H.M. Pritchard 1865-1866 and 1868-1869
F.W. Ahrens 1867-1868
Clement Dowd 1869-1871