Past Mayors

Charlotte's Mayors 1940-1960

After years of growth, 1940 brought more change to the Queen City. Following Charlotte's participation in the second World War and the Korean War, the city began to blossom as a regional center for commerce and industry.

During this period Independence Boulevard was finished, and Independence Arena and Ovens Auditorium were opened. Charlottetowne Mall (now Midtown Square) opened its doors as the Carolinas first enclosed shopping center. Find out what happened during the administration of each of the following Charlotte mayors:

Ben E. Douglas 1935-1941
E. McA. Currie 1941-1943
H.H. Baxter 1943-1949
Victor Shaw 1949-1953
Philip Van Every 1953-1957
James Saxon Smith 1957-1961