Past Mayors

​All past mayors (1853 to present)

Jennifer Roberts2015 to present
Daniel Clodfelter (appointed to fill unexpired term)2014 to 2015
Patrick D. Cannon (resigned)2013 to 2014
Patsy Kinsey (appointed to fill unexpired term)2013 to 2013
Anthony Foxx (resigned)2009 to 2013
Pat McCrory1995 to 2009
Richard Vinroot1991 to 1994
Sue Myrick1987 to 1991
Harvey B. Gantt1983 to 1987
H. Edward Knox1979 to 1983
Kenneth R. Harris1977 to 1979
John M. Belk1969 to 1977
Stanford R. Brookshire1961 to 1969
James Saxon Smith1957 to 1961
Philip Van Every1953 to 1957
Victor Shaw1949 to 1953
Herbert H. Baxter1943 to 1949
E.M. Currie1941 to 1943
Ben E. Douglas1935 to 1941
Arthur E. Wearn1933 to 1935
Charles E. Lambeth1931 to 1933
George E. Wilson Jr.1929 to 1931
F. Marion Redd1927 to 1929
David M. Abernathy (appointed to fill unexpired term)1926 to 1927
Harvey W. Moore (resigned)1924 to 1926
James O. Walker1921 to 1924
John M. Wilson (appointed to fill unexpired term)1920 to 1921
Frank R. McNinch (resigned)1917 to 1920
Thomas L. Kirkpatrick1915 to 1917
Charles A. Bland1911 to 1915
Thomas W. Hawkins1909 to 1911
Thomas S. Franklin (appointed to fill unexpired term)1907 to 1909
Samuel S. McNinch (resigned)1905 to 1907
Peter Marshall Brown1901 to 1905
Johnson D. McCall1899 to 1901
E.B. Springs1897 to 1899
J.H. Weddington1895 to 1897
R.J. Brevard1891 to 1895
F. Brevard McDowell1887 to 1891
William C. Maxwell1883 to 1884
Frederick S. DeWolfe1880 to 1883
Frank I. Osborne1879 to 1880
Benjamin R. Smith1878 to 1879
William Johnston*1875 to 1878
William Johnston*1884 to 1887
William F. Davidson*1873 to 1875
John A. Young1871 to 1873
Clement Dowd (resigned)1869 to 1871
F.W. Ahrens (appointed to fill unexpired term)1867 to 1868
H.M. Prichard*1865 to 1866
H.M. Prichard (resigned in second term)*1868 to 1869
Samuel A. Harris (appointed by provisional governor)*1864 to 1865
Samuel A. Harris*1866 to 1867
William A. Owens (absent on military duty)1861 to 1862
William F. Davidson (Intendent)*1853 to 1857
Robert F. Davidson (appointed acting mayor for Owens)1862 to 1863
Jennings B. Kerr (Intendent)1859 to 1861