February 9, 2015
Lori Collins, Executive Director, CLT Joules                        Ashley Simmons, Office of the Mayor
704-562-3775                                                                   704-336-3438 or 704-614-9116                                                   

CHARLOTTE, NC — Charlotte Mayor Dan Clodfelter is encouraging the community to help choose and celebrate innovative energy leaders in Charlotte over the next few days.
“The CLT Joules Energy Innovation Awards provide the prime opportunity for our community to recognize the individuals and organizations that inspire creativity in the energy sector,” said Mayor Dan Clodfelter. “Charlotte is poised to become a national energy leader and CLT Joules enhances that positioning as we support and celebrate our energy entrepreneurs.”
The CLT Joules inaugural Energy Innovation Awards ceremony will take place Feb 19, to further the organization’s mission to promote innovation and entrepreneurship in the energy sector. The new awards will celebrate exceptional individuals and companies in the following categories:
  • Energy Entrepreneur of the Year
  • Energy Innovation of the Year
  • Energy Mentor of the Year
  • AREVA Inspiration Award –for an outstanding K-12 teacher in STEM
Nominees include:

Energy Entrepreneur of the Year – presented by BDO

  • Rye Barcott and Dan McCready, Double Time Capital
  • Shiba Bhowmik, Sinewatts
  • Tom McKittrick, Forsite Development and ReVenture Park
  • Vladislav Oleynik and Anatoli Oleynik, 3DFS
  • Mark Delgado, KOYR

Energy Innovation of the Year – presented by Opower

  • Alevo
  • CetoTech
  • EV Fleet
  • International Thermodyne
  • O2 Energies
  • Sinewatts
  • Smartcharge
AREVA Inspiration Award – presented by AREVA
  • Angela Berry, Citizen Schools
  • Chris Eckart, Discovery Place
  • Jessie Enlow, Cox Mill High School
  • Ed Lau, Citizen Schools
  • Kurt Lawrence, Northwest Cabarrus Middle School
  • Sarah Long, Alexander Graham Middle School
  • Bobbi Luster, Davidson Day School
  • Julie Maynard, Banks Trail Middle School
  • PonSaravanan RajaMohan, Citizen Schools
  • Matt Wykoff, Zebulon B. Vance High School
The Energy Mentor of the Year will be selected by the CLT Joules Board based on nominations from participating CLT Joules startups. Voting for the awards is open to the public through Feb. 12 on the CLT Joules website,
Award winners will be announced on February 19 at the CLT Joules Energy Innovation Awards Event at Discovery Place. Tickets for the awards can be purchased online. The keynote speaker will be Ron Schoff, Technology Innovation executive at the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI). Graduating startups from the 2014 CLT Joules Energy Accelerator program will also be honored at the event.
To learn more about CLT Joules, visit or send an email to