Mayor Clodfelter salutes City Transportation Department (CDOT) for Sustainability Award​


April 25, 2014

Contact: Ashley Simmons, Office of the Mayor
(704) 336-3438

CHARLOTTE, NC — Mayor Dan Clodfelter recently extended his congratulations to the City of Charlotte Transportation Department (CDOT) for a Sustainability Award received during the third annual Sustain Charlotte Community Sustainability Awards & Earth Day Celebration held April 22 at UNC-Charlotte’s Center City building in Uptown. Clodfelter and several City Council members attended the event. 

Local nonprofits, government agencies, businesses, and neighborhood associations were recognized for helping to advance ‘Charlotte 2030: A Sustainable Vision for Our Region,’ which Sustain Charlotte launched in 2010. 

CDOT was among the honorees, receiving the Transportation Award, which was accepted during the ceremony by Transportation Director Danny Pleasant and staff member Vivian Coleman. 

Clodfelter said he was pleased by the increase in awards and support for the event. He also thanked Sustain Charlotte for their efforts. 

“We congratulate CDOT and all of the honorees for their accomplishments,” said Clodfelter. “Sustain Charlotte has been an invaluable partner and we are fortunate that we have so many organizations and individuals in our community who recognize the importance of sustainability efforts.”

Council members also attending Tuesday’s event included John Autry, David Howard, Vi Lyles, Lawanda Mayfield and Patsy Kinsey. Autry provided the welcome address during the event.