Charlotte Business INClusion

Statistical Area City of Charlotte MWBE registration requirements:

• MWBEs must be certified with the State of North Carolina’s Historically Underutilized Business (HUB) Office. To learn more about MWBE certification.
• MWBEs with a significant business presence in the Charlotte Combined Statistical Area "CSA" will need to register in the City’s vendor database and complete a Relevant Market Area Certification Form​.

City of Charlotte SBE certification requirements:

• Qualifying person(s) must own 51% of the business enterprise.
– Personal net worth not to exceed $750,000 (Excludes business ownership, retirement accounts, and eligible equity in residential home)
• Significant business presence in the Charlotte Combined Statistical Area "CSA."
• Provide a commercially useful function to the City.
• 1/4 SBA size standards.

Significant Business Presence eligibility criteria:

• Is the business enterprise headquartered or has an office in the Charlotte CSA;
• Number of full-time employees in the CSA;
• Location of managerial or decision-making personnel;
• Lease agreement;
• Post office box, mail drop, or message center;
• Previous work or contracts performed in the Charlotte CSA; and
• Percentage of income or revenue derived from Charlotte CSA.

What are the Benefits of MWSBE certification?

• Certified firms are listed in City’s vendor database.
• Increased visibility and notification of City contracting and subcontracting opportunities.
• Free workshops, seminars, and networking events.
• Access to working capital loan

The Charlotte Combined Statistical Area (CSA) includes - Anson County, NC, Cabarrus County, NC, Chester County, SC, Cleveland County, NC, Gaston County, NC, Iredell County, NC, Lancaster County, SC, Lincoln County, NC, Mecklenburg County, NC, Rowan County, NC, Stanly County, NC, Union County, NC, York County, SC