Tree management

Charlotte Tree Advisory Commission

The 12-member Charlotte Tree Advisory Commission (CTAC) comprises 10 individuals appointed by Charlotte City Council and the Mayor, and two staff members from Engineering & Property Management. 

The CTAC's mission is to achieve a community-wide recognition that trees and landscaping are an integral part of our quality of life, and it is the responsibility of all citizens to provide for and protect our urban forest environment.​ 

CTAC's vision

  • ​To serve as advocates for the ongoing renewal of Charlotte's urban forest

  • To educate Charlotte residents about the importance of trees and landscaping as they pertain to our quality of life

  • To advise and support City Council and assist City leaders on issues affecting Charlotte' urban forest

The CTAC works with TreesCharlotte to promote trees during the annual Arbor Day celebration.​​​

​Current commissioners

Alex Vuchnich (Chair)​

Eric Applefield

Scott Baker

Jay Banks

Kim Hombs

Tara Moore

Wayne Robinson

Mary Jo Shepherd


Apply for CTAC membership here.