The land for Evergreen Cemetery was purchased in 1944 for the purpose of creating Charlotte's fourth municipal cemetery. Interments began shortly afterward in 1947, and Evergreen now receives the most interments of all of Charlotte's municipal cemeteries.
Among the decorative features of Evergreen is a large memorial at the entrance dedicated to Mecklenburg County soldiers who died in World War II.
Visitors can also find the Chapel of Resurrection, erected in memory of all deceased parish members of the Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Cathedral. The underside of the dome has a mosaic designed by master Byzantine iconographer Sirio.
Administrative offices for all of Charlotte's municipal cemeteries are located at Evergreen.