Mayor, City Council and City Manager
The City of Charlotte operates under a council-manager form of government that divides responsibilities between elected officials and an appointed City Manager. 

The Mayor and City Council - four at-large representatives and seven district representatives - are elected every two years.  They set policy, enact ordinances, allocate funds, and determine the annual property tax rate.  They also appoint the City Manager, City Attorney and City Clerk. 

The City Manager implements City Council policy, oversees the daily operations of City government and provides vision and leadership to the organization.




Return to Table of Contents