Meet the Council

Charlotte Mayor and City Council

​The City of Charlotte is currently divided into seven districts, each one having a district representative on city council. Each representative is elected by the voters living in that district. The districts are divided according to population so that there is an approximate balance of the number of citizens per district.

The other four council members, called at-large representatives, are elected by voters from throughout the city.

What district am I in and who represents me?

You can locate your district by entering your address in the GeoPortal and selecting "voting" from the drop-down menu. You'll also find your polling location and your representatives for the following elected offices:

  • National Congress

  • National Senate

  • North Carolina Senate

  • North Carolina House

  • Mecklenburg County Commission

  • Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education

Mayor Vi Alexander Lyles
Julie Eiselt
Mayor pro tem
Braxton Winston, II
Council member at large
Dimple Ajmera
Council member at large
Larken Egleston
Council member, district 1
Malcolm Graham
Council member, district 2
Victoria Watlington
Council member, district 3
Renee Johnson
Council member, district 4
Matt Newton
Council member, district 5
Tariq Bokhari
Council member, district 6
Edmund H. Driggs
Council member, district 7