City Council Committees

​Redistricting Ad Hoc Committee

Charlotte Mayor Vi Lyles formed the Redistricting Committee in anticipation of receiving the 2020 US Census data in September. The Redistricting Committee Chair is council member Malcom Graham, along with council members Dimple Ajmera, Ed Driggs, and Greg Phipps serving as committee members. The City Attorney Office will serve as staff resource for the Committee.The Committee has approved the following the following principles.

Importance of the First Order

  • Districts must have substantially equal population - one person/one vote rule. (required)
  • Districts should be reasonably compact. (strongly recommended)
  • District boundaries may follow neighborhood boundaries or the boundaries of areas containing residents sharing similar interests.

Importance of the Second Order

  • District boundaries may follow precinct boundaries.
  • District boundaries may be drawn considering the race of district residents as long as race is not the predominant motivating factor.
  • District(s) most likely to be impacted by future annexations (or growth rates) may be smaller to minimize impact of future annexations on future redistricting.
  • District boundaries may be drawn to avoid contests between incumbents.

Public Participation Opportunities

City Council ​Committee members

Malcolm Graham
Dimple Tansen Ajmera​
Edmund H. Driggs​