Minimum Standards to Become an Officer
Applicants must meet the following minimum qualifications to be considered for employment:
Have a high school diploma or GED. A high school correspondence diploma is not accepted by the state of North Carolina, you must complete the high school equivalency.
Be at least 20 years old at the time of initial application.
Be a United States citizen.
Have or be able to obtain a North Carolina OR South Carolina Driver's License (dependent on your state of residence) AND have a minimum of 2 years driving experience, using a VALID driver's license.
Have not committed or been convicted of a felony.
Have not committed or been convicted of a serious misdemeanor in the preceding five years.
Have not committed or been convicted of Driving While Impaired during the preceding five years.
Have an Honorable Military Discharge; General and Uncharacterized Discharges are evaluated on a case by case basis.
Pass an entry level written examination.
Pass an entry level physical ability test.
Pass an extensive background investigation including psychological examination, polygraph examination, etc.
Pass Medical standards for sworn applicants are based on Medical Screening Guidelines for the Certification of Criminal Justice Officers in the State of North Carolina.
Pass a pre-employment Medical Examination and Drug Screening Test.
Certain past drug use will result in disqualification. Marijuana usage in the last 12 months or usage of Schedule I drugs or cocaine within the past 10 years will result in an automatic disqualification.
The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department requires that all sworn police officers will:
Reside in North Carolina
or South Carolina
Within a 45 mile radius of Police Headquarters (601 E. Trade, Charlotte, NC 28202)
While they are employed with the CMPD, all sworn employees must continue to abide by this rule. The residency requirement does not apply during the application process. Out of state residents are eligible to apply.
Please use this link to help you determine if your residence is within the bounds the CMPD allows:
45 Mile Radius Map (pdf)
Thinking of Joining Our Department? Compare Charlotte’s Cost of Living With Other Municipalities.
Use the Cost of Living Wizard to calculate your estimate.
Tattoos or brands cannot be visible on the head, face, chest or neck.
As per CMPD
Policy,"Visible tattoos cannot be more than 2.5 inches in length or 1 inch in width and number no more than one per limb, including the hand." Any visible tattoo (i.e. "sleeves"), must be covered by a uniform shirt or approved tattoo "jacket".
Facial Hair Policy:
OSHA requires that sworn employees be able to properly wear and seal respirators. Based on this requirement, any facial hair other than a well-groomed mustache is prohibited.