Urban Design

Charlotte Urban Design is a program of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Department. Our mission is to advance the quality of the built environment, create public awareness, and communicate the importance of urban design to our city. We reveal how design influences our quality of life and economic resilience. We advocate for great places in a livable city.

Projects, programs, and events Charlotte Urban Design either leads or supports are found in one of these areas: Investigate, Engage, Design, or Activate. Follow one of the links below to learn about what we're working on now.

  
  
Description
  
  
  
  
InvestigateInvestigate
Innovative thinking, research, and communication strategies
InvestigateIn page navigation
EngageEngage
Education, outreach, and design assistance
EngageIn page navigation
DesignEngage
Providing urban design expertise to the planning process
DesignIn page navigation
ActivateActivate
Creative strategies, initiatives, and interventions
http://www.google.comIn page navigation

Urban Design Staff

Grant Meacci, PLA, LEED AP

Program Manager + Urban Designer
Grant.Meacci@CharlotteNC.gov
704-336-8308

Lorna Allen, PLA

Principal Planner + Urban Designer
Lorna.Allen@CharlotteNC.gov
704-336-8321

Erin Chantry, LEED AP ND, CNU-A

Principal Planner + Urban Designer
Erin.Chantry@CharlotteNC.gov
704-432-4493

Alan Goodwin, AICP

Planning Coordinator + Urban Designer
AGoodwin@CharlotteNC.gov
704-432-3418

Monica Holmes, AICP, CNU-A

Planning Coordinator + Urban Designer
Monica.Holmes@CharlotteNC.gov
704-336-8316

Rachel Stark, PLA

Principal Planner + Urban Designer
Rachel.Stark@CharlotteNC.gov
704-336-8319

 

Urban Design