Citywide Newsroom

​Charlotte Communications & Marketing

Charlotte, one of the 25 largest cities in the U.S. and the largest city in North Carolina, is a fast-growing, fast-moving city. Nearly 800,000 people live and work here, and millions more visit Charlotte every year to enjoy professional sports, fine dining and exceptional shopping, study at our universities, receive excellent care at our hospitals, and explore the outdoors.

The Queen City's audiences want effective, accurate and fast information, as well as ways to share thoughts and concerns with City employees, department leaders and elected officials.

From storytelling to public affairs, community engagement to marketing and creative services, web services to video production, Charlotte Communications and Marketing's professional, talented team members provide a multitude of ways to share effective messaging across a variety of communications channels.

The department is organized into six areas, all focused on providing guidance and assistance to tell Charlotte's stories.

Manager/Assistant Director: Traci Ethridge
tethridge@charlottenc.gov
704.353.1157

  • Focus Areas: Strategy, Implementation, Compliance, Special Projects (i.e., CIP, Community Action Plan)

Staff: Sabrina Colón, Sr. Communications & Community Engagement Specialist
scolon@charlottenc.gov
704.336.5862

  • Focus Areas: Community Investment Plan, Engagement

Staff: Ken Brown, Sr. Communications Specialist
kebrown@charlottenc.gov
704.336.5863

  • Focus Areas: Social Media, Strategy Development, Oversight of Corporate Channels


Staff: Wendy Bing, Project Coordinator
wgbing@charlottenc.gov
704.336.4239

  • Focus Areas: Workfront, 30-60-90-Day Planning and Messaging Tool

Manager/Director: Sandy D’Elosua Vastola
sdelosua@charlottenc.gov
704.336.2643

Staff: Jordan-Ashley Walker, Sr. Communications Specialist
jordan-ashley.walker@charlottenc.gov
704.336.4936

  • Focus Areas: Media Relations & Crisis Communications

Brittany Clampitt: Communications Specialist
brittany.clampitt@charlottenc.gov

704.336.4935

  • Focus Area: Media Relations

Staff: Nicole Eaton, Communications Specialist
nramsey@charlottenc.gov
704.336.4287

  • Focus Areas: Internal Communications, Internal Strategy, Content Development

Manager: Shawn Proffitt
704.336.5864
sproffitt@charlottenc.gov

  • Focus Areas: Web Governance, Maintenance, Strategy

Staff: Steven Fisher, Content Webmaster
704.336.5536
steven.fisher@charlottenc.gov

  • Focus Areas: Web maintenance, ADA Compliance, Development

Manager: Ryan Wagner
704.336.3969
rwagner@charlottenc.gov

  • Focus Areas: Strategy, Multimedia Innovation, CAP Fund/Video Technology Needs

Staff: Gina DiPietro, Video Journalist
704.336.4748
regina.dipietro@charlottenc.gov

  • Focus Areas: Digital Development, Video  Prod.

Staff: Steve Rogers, Video Journalist
704.336.4247
srogers@charlottenc.gov

  • Focus Areas: Digital Development, Video Prod.

Staff: David Flower, Video Journalist
704.336.4502
david.flower@charlottenc.gov

  • Focus Areas: Digital Development, Video Prod.

Staff: Sherry Bauer, Producer/Director
704.336.2459
sbauer@charlottenc.gov

  • Focus Areas: Programming, GOV Channel

Staff: Doc Russell, Engineer
704.336.4506
dsrussell@charlottenc.gov

  • Focus Areas: GOV Channel, TV Studio, Equipment Maintenance

​Subscribe here for the latest information about Charlotte

​​