Community Investment Plan

Six Police Division Stations


Program overview

This project will construct six new permanent Police Stations in Westover Division*, Hickory Grove Division, South Division, University City Division, Independence Division and Northwest Division. Four of these facilities will replace temporary and leased facilities currently being used, and two will provide stations for the newly established South and Northwest divisions. These new facilities will accommodate the current and future needs of CMPD by meeting the following criteria as established in CMPD's strategic plan for facilities:

  1. Properly sized for current and future staffing needs; 

  2. Prominently located in a neighborhood as an anchor to the community that encourages revitalization;

  3. Easily accessible to the public by locating on a main thoroughfare that is pedestrian-friendly and served by public transportation; and

  4. Creation of a "brand" for CMPD that is easily recognizable by the public while retaining an appearance that is adapted well to the surrounding community.

*$10.5 million in non-bond debt financing for the Westover Division Station was appropriated in FY2014.​ 

Program funding and cost information

$60.9 million in non-bond debt financing through certificates of participation for public safety and other municipal facilities:

  • $10.5 million in 2014

  • $24.8 million in 2016

  • $18.6 million  in 2018

  • $7.0 million in 2020 

Public involvement

Community engagement activities will occur throughout the project’s duration to keep those interested in the project informed and provide opportunities for the public to share ideas, opinions, and concerns.  

This site has additional information on Community Investment Plan news and events.

​Program contacts

​Katrina Graue
Deputy Chief
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department
(704) 432-0429  

Project map

Public Safety Facilities Map

Completed Police Division Station Projects
Westover Division

Proposed Police Division Station Projects
Hickory Grove Division
South Division
University City Division
Independence Division
Northwest Division