Volunteer

​Storm Water Advisory Committee ​

​The Storm Water Advisory Committee (SWAC) is a group of volunteers who provide guidance and public input into the services and policies of Charlotte-Mecklenburg Storm Water Services. 
 
The advisory committee is comprised of nine residents appointed by the City Council, County Commission, and Town Commissions.  SWAC meets monthly and provides four areas of service:

  • reviews policies
  • hears appeals and decide on violations, fee credits, service charges and adjustments
  • evaluates capital and operational programs and budgets
  • makes recommendations or comments to elected official 

Members
Mr. James “Jim” Merrifield, Chair
James “Jim” Bowen, Ph.D., Vice Chair
Attorney John Buric
Mr. David Collins
Mr. Roger Diedrich
Mr. Ryan Hamrick
Ms. Leslie Jones
Ms. Molly Murchison
Mr. Rick Saltrick

The public is welcome to apply for SWAC membership by contacting the Clerk for the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners Office, Tonette Spears at 980-314-2914, Tonette.Spears@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov.


2017 Meeting Schedule

SWAC meetings are held each month, every 3rd Thursday, beginning at 4:30 PM in the Hal Marshall Conference Room, 4th Floor, 2145 Suttle Ave​, Charl​otte, NC 28208. The public is welcome to attend and provide input during public comment​. For more information about SWAC or to request meeting agendas or minutes, please contact Vivian Love at 980-314-3220, Vivian.Love@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov.

Thursday, January 19, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Thursday, May 18, 2017 - Canceled
Thursday, June 15, 2017
Thursday, July 20, 2017
Thursday, August 17, 2017
Thursday, September 21, 2017​
Thursday, October 19, 2017
Thursday, November 16, 2017
Thursday, December 21, 2017

2018 Meeting Schedule

​​January 18, 2018​ 
​​February 15, 2018 
​March 15, 2018 
​​April 19, 2018 
​​May 17, 2018 
​​June 21, 2018 
​​July 19, 2018 ​
​​August 16, 2018 
​​September 20, 2018 
​​October 18, 2018 
​​November 15, 2018 
​​December 20, 2018


​*Anyone needing special accommodations when attending a SWAC meeting and/or if this information is needed in any alternate format because of a disability, please contact the Clerk to the SWAC at least 72 hours prior to the meeting at 980-314-3220 (Office) or 704-335-2253 (FAX).