Complying with Floodplain Regulations 

Floodplain regulations apply to land shown on official floodplain maps. Because Charlotte-Mecklenburg is updating its floodplain maps, language in local floodplain regulations is also being revised.

Floodplain Regulations
Mecklenburg County (Revised Jan. 22, 2014)
Charlotte (Revised Jan. 27, 2014)
Cornelius (Revised Feb. 16, 2009)
Davi​dson (Revised Feb. 25, 2009)​
Huntersville (Revised March 2, 2009)
Matthews (Revised Feb. 10, 2014)
Mint Hill (Revised Feb. 18, 2014)
Pineville​ (Revised Feb. 11, 2014)​

Documents and Forms
Floodplain Regulations Technical Guidance Document (PDF)
Individual Floodplain Development Permit Application
Substantial Improvement Check Sheet
Flood Fringe Development Check Sheet
Community Encroachment Area Development Check Sheet
Elevation Certificate Application Form (FEMA form 81-31)
Flood Insurance Floodproofing Certificate (FEMA form 81-65)  
Owner Affidavit of Building Improvements
Affidavit of Nonsubstantial Improvements in Floodplain
Affidavit of Substantial Improvement/Community Exemption
Certificate of Development Outside the Community Encroachment Area
Step-by-Step instructions for Floodplain Development Permits
Letter of Map Change Request FEMA)
Elevation Certificate Form/Instructions (FEMA)
Floodplain Ordinances Terms to Know  

Floodplain:  Land that would be under water in a 100-year flood, or a flood that has a 1% chance of occurring every year. Land that is in a regulated floodplain is covered by the Floodplain Ordinances. The regulated floodplain is sometimes called the Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA). The regulated floodplain is divided into four areas listed below.

Floodplain areas from most to least restrictive:

FEMA Floodway (also called FEMA Floodway Encroachment Area): The most dangerous area of the regulated floodplain with the fastest moving water. Development in this area is very restricted and in some cases requires additional approval by FEMA. Flood insurance is required on buildings within this area. Shown on the FloodZone Map in light blue with slashed lines.

Community Encroachment Area:  Often part of the FEMA Flood Fringe area. A dangerous area of the floodplain with high velocity waters located just outside the FEMA Floodway. Flood insurance is required.  Development in this area is very restricted and may need local approval. Shown on the FloodZone map in gray with a dotted grid pattern.

FEMA Flood Fringe Area:  Section of the regulated floodplain that may flood based on existing development. Flood insurance is required on buildings within this area. Shown on the FloodZone Map in solid light blue.

Community Flood Fringe Area:  (Also called "Future Flood Zone.") Section of the regulated floodplain that is likely to flood when vacant land upstream is developed in the future. Flood insurance may not be required on buildings within this area. Shown on the FloodZone map in solid gray.